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INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING A CIVIL RIGHTS COMPLAINT 

UNDER 42 U.S.C. §1983 
 

 

 

 These instructions are meant only to help you understand the forms and to explain some 

of the Court’s procedures.  

 

  

 The Court cannot give you legal advice or provide you with copies of cases or other legal 

materials. 

 

 

 This packet contains two copies of a complaint form and two copies of a motion to 

proceed in forma pauperis.  You only have to file one copy for you to keep of each with 

the Clerk.  The extra copies are provided so that you may use them to make a copy of 

what you are filing.  

  

 

 The Court does not have to provide copies of complaints or other documents to you.  

Anything you file with the Court becomes a part of the official Court record. 

 

 

 When you are ready to file your complaint, you may either pay the $400 filing fee or you 

may include a motion to proceed in forma pauperis with your complaint. A complaint 

filed without either the filing fee or a motion to proceed in forma pauperis does not have 

to be accepted for filing. 
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Filling out the Complaint Form 
 

 You may either type your complaint OR hand write it so long as it can be easily read.  

Documents filed with the Court that cannot be read do not have to be accepted for filing. 

 

 If you need more space to provide any of the information requested, attach additional 

sheets of paper and indicate that you have done so on the complaint form. 

 

 You may name more than one defendant in your complaint.  

 

o  You must provide the names of individual defendants and their addresses.  

o The information you provide must be enough to identify the defendant and where 

they can be found.  

o  If you are incarcerated and you are suing correctional officials, you may simply 

provide the name of the institution where they work. 

o   Simply noting “et al.” on your complaint form is not enough information to 

identify the people you are suing. 

 

 Answer the questions on the complaint form carefully and provide as much information 

as you can.   

 

 When writing your Statement of Claim (Section III on page 4 of the complaint) you 

should: 

 

o Only include facts and allegations concerning one set of circumstances that 

involve the defendants named.  Unrelated claims must be filed in a different 

complaint. 

o Only state the facts of your claim.  For example: 

 

What happened?    When did the events take place? 

Who was involved?   How were you hurt? 

How were they involved?   What are your injuries? 

 

o Do not make legal arguments or cite case law. 

 

 In the last section (Section IV) you should state what you want the Court to do in the 

event judgment is entered in your favor. 

 

 You must sign the complaint.  You may not sign for anyone else. 

 

 Mail your completed complaint to: 

 

The Clerk of the Court 

101 W. Lombard Street 

Baltimore, Maryland 21201 
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Asking for the Filing Fee to be Waived 

 

 The filing fee for a civil lawsuit in the United States District Court for the District of 

Maryland is $400.   

 

o The filing fee must be paid when you file the complaint.  

o There are also fees for having your complaint served on each defendant by the 

United States Marshal.   

o To avoid these costs you must file a Motion To Proceed In Forma Pauperis. 

 

 If the Court grants your Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis you do not have to pay the 

filing fee at the time your complaint is filed.   

 

o IF YOU ARE INCARCERATED: the Court will obtain a verified inmate account 

statement from the finance officer at the institution you are confined.  Upon 

receipt of that statement, partial payment of the filing fee may be assessed.  This 

is required by law. 

 

 How much money you may have to pay will depend on how much is in 

your account. 

 An initial partial fee is assessed as follows: 

 The six month average account balance is compared to the six 

month average deposits 

 20% of the amount that is the highest will be the initial partial fee 

 

 After the initial fee is paid, payments will continue to be deducted from 

the account as follows: 

 20% of the prior month’s income will be paid 

 Payments are not deducted if the balance of the account is less than 

$10.00. 

 Deductions will be made this way until the full filing fee is paid or 

you are released from prison. 

 

 By filing a Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis you are consenting to 

partial payments. 

 

o IF YOU ARE NOT INCARCERATED: and the Court grants your Motion 

to Proceed in Forma Pauperis you will not have to pay the filing fee or costs to 

serve the Complaint.  This DOES NOT necessarily mean you will not be 

liable for costs to the opposing party if judgment is entered in their favor. 

 

 PLEASE NOTE: The affidavit you file in support of your Motion to Proceed in Forma 

Pauperis is a statement made UNDER OATH and must be accurate.  You may be 

required to pay the full filing fee or your case may be dismissed if you do not include all 

requested information or the information provided is not correct. 
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Representing Yourself 
 

 Your complaint will be reviewed by the Court to make certain it is filled out properly.  If 

additional information is needed, you will be notified. 

 

 A judge will be assigned and a case number will be provided for your case. 

 

o PUT YOUR CASE NUMBER ON ALL DOCUMENTS you send to the Clerk 

concerning your case.  

 

 Everything you file in your case should be addressed to: 

 

The Clerk of the Court  The Clerk of the Court 

United States District Court  United States District Court 

101 West Lombard Street  6500 Cherrywood Lane 

Baltimore, Maryland 21201  Greenbelt, Maryland 20770 

 

 You MUST notify the Court in writing of any change in your address while your case is 

pending.  Failing to do so may result in dismissal of your complaint. 

 

 DO NOT try to communicate directly with the judge assigned to your case. 

 

 If you want to request that something be done in your case you must file a motion or 

other document with the Clerk. 

 

 After the defendants have been served, most will have an attorney representing them and 

their attorney will receive electronic notification of all documents that you file in the 

case; therefore, you no longer need to send copies of those documents to the attorney.  

 

  For any defendants that DO NOT HAVE AN ATTORNEY, you will need to mail a copy 

of whatever you file in the case directly to them and indicate that you have done so by 

preparing a certificate of service on the final page.    

 

 A certificate of service is a paragraph that states: 

 

o I hereby certify that on this ___ day of ________, 20__, a copy of the 

foregoing  [NAME OF DOCUMENT] was mailed, postage pre-paid, 

to: [NAME AND ADDRESS OF ATTORNEY REPRESENTING 

DEFENDANTS]. 

[YOUR SIGNATURE] 

 

 Exhibits or documents already filed a defendant do not need to be filed again; rather, you 

simply refer to the exhibit or document that is already filed. 

 

 You must sign all of the documents you file. 
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 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

 

 

 I hereby certify that on this    day of    , 20 , a copy of this  

 , was mailed, postage prepaid, to  

(name and address of the attorney or person to whom you sent it). 

 

 

 (your signature)  

 

It is not necessary to state in the certificate of service that copies were sent to the Court or to the 

Clerk. 

 

Do not file any motions or memoranda that are longer than fifty pages unless you have received 

permission from the Court.  Most motions and memoranda should be much shorter than fifty 

pages. 

 

You do not have to file copies of exhibits that are already on file in the same case.  For example, 

if the defendants in your case file a motion for summary judgment and attach as an exhibit to 

their motion a copy of a sick call slip, you do not have to attach a copy of that document to your 

opposition or to any motions you file.  You may simply refer to the copy that is already in the 

file. 

 

You must sign every pleading, motion, and memorandum that you file.  You MAY NOT sign 

someone else’s name, nor may you file anything on behalf of someone else.  In order for a 

pleading, motion, or memorandum to be considered on behalf of more than one plaintiff, each 

plaintiff must sign it. 
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FORM TO BE USED BY A PRISONER FILING A COMPLAINT 

 UNDER THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT, 42 U.S.C. §1983 

 

 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

 FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND 

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

  

(Full name, prison identification 

number and address of the plaintiff) 

 

 v. Civil Action No.   
  (Leave blank on initial filing to be filled in by Court.) 

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

  

 (Full name and address of the defendant(s)) 

 

 COMPLAINT 

I. Previous lawsuits 
 

 A. Have you filed other cases in state or federal court dealing with the same facts as 

in this case or against the same defendants? 

 

   YES   NO   

 

 B. If you answered YES, describe that case(s) in the spaces below. 

 

  1. Parties to the other case(s): 

 

Plaintiff:   

 

Defendant(s):   

  



1983 Complaint (Rev. 05/2013) 7 

2. Court (if a federal court name the district; if a state court name the city or  

 

county):   

 

 

3. Case No.:   

 

 

4. Date filed:   

 

 

5. Name of judge that handled the case:   

 

 

6. Disposition (won, dismissed, still pending, on appeal):   

 

 

  

 

 

7. Date of disposition:   

 

 

II. Administrative proceedings 

 

A. If you are a prisoner, did you file a grievance as required by the prison’s 

administrative remedy procedures? 

 

   YES   NO   

 

1. If you answered YES: 

 

a. What was the result?   

 

  

 

b. Did you appeal? 

 

     YES   NO   

 

2. If you answered NO to either of the questions above, explain why:   

 

  

 

  

 

  

  



1983 Complaint (Rev. 05/2013) 8 

III. Statement of claim 
(Briefly state the facts of your case.  Include dates, times, and places.  Describe what each 

defendant did or how he/she is involved.  If you are making a number of related claims,  

number and explain each claim in a separate paragraph.) 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

IV. Relief 
(State briefly what you want the Court to do for you.) 

  

  

 

SIGNED THIS   day of,    ,  . 

 

 

   

 (original signature of plaintiff) 

 

   

 

   

 

   

 (address of plaintiff) 
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 FORM TO BE USED BY A PRISONER SEEKING LEAVE TO PROCEED  

 IN FORMA PAUPERIS IN A CIVIL RIGHTS ACTION 

 

 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 

 FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND 

 

 

  

(name of plaintiff) 

 

  v. Civil Action No.   

  (Leave blank.  To be filled in by Court.) 

 

  

(name of defendant) 

 

 

 MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS 

 

 I,       , declare that I am the plaintiff in this case.  

Because of my poverty, I am unable to pay the filing fee and costs of this action at this time, nor 

am I able to give security therefor. 

 I understand that the fee for filing this type of case is $400.00.  I understand that if my 

motion is granted, it does not mean I will not have to pay this fee.  I understand that if my motion 

is granted, periodic deductions may be made from my inmate account until the entire fee is paid.  

By filing this motion, I am agreeing to allow such deductions as are required by law.  I 

understand that if I do not have money in my prison account, but have other resources, the Court 

may require that I pay the filing fee or a partial filing fee. 

 I believe that I have a meritorious complaint and am entitled to relief in these 

proceedings. 

 In support of this motion, I answer the following questions: 



1983 Complaint (Rev. 05/2013) 10 

 1. Are you presently employed in a prison job or other assignment that results in 

compensation of any sort, including work release? 

 

  YES   NO   

 

a. If you answered YES, list your employer or assignment and the amount of 

your wages. 

 

Employer/assignment:   

 

Monthly gross wages:   

 

Monthly net wages:   

 

b. If you answered NO, state the date of your last employment or assignment, 

the name of your employer or assignment, and the amount of wages you 

received. 

 

Date:   

 

Employer/assignment:   

 

Monthly gross wages:   

 

Monthly net wages:   

 

2. Within the past twelve months have you received any income from: 1) 

settlements, judgments, or monetary awards from a court; 2) Social Security, 

public assistance, workers’ compensation or disability payments; 3) a business, 

profession or other form of self-employment; 4) rent, interest or dividends; 5) 

retirement, annuity, pension, or insurance payment; 6) gifts or inheritances; 7) or 

any other sources? 

 

   YES   NO   

 

If you answered YES, list the amount received, date it was received, and the 

source. 

 

  Amount  Date received  Source 
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3. How much money do you have in your prison account?   

 

4. How much money do you have in checking, savings or other accounts outside of 

prison?   

 

5. Do you own or have any interest in any real estate, stocks, bonds, notes, 

automobiles, or other valuable property (not including ordinary household 

furnishings and clothes)? 

 

  YES   NO   

 

If you answered YES, list the value and describe each item. 

 

  Value   Description 

 

     

 

     

 

     

 

     

 

6. List everyone (including businesses and the government) that you owe money and 

the amount that you owe. 

 

  Creditor   Total debt  Monthly payment 
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 7. List any other major monthly expenses that you are actually paying. 

 

  Description      Monthly payment 

 

     

 

     

 

8. Attach a certified statement of your prison account for the past six months.  If you 

are unable to do this, one will be requested from prison officials. 

 

I DECLARE UNDER THE PENALTIES OF PERJURY THAT THE INFORMATION 

ABOVE IS TRUE AND CORRECT. 
 

 

 

    

 (date) (original signature of plaintiff) 

 

   

 

   

 

   

 (address of plaintiff) 

 


