You are here

Chief Judge Transition

Wednesday, May 1, 2024

The Honorable George L. Russell III became the Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the District of Maryland on May 1, 2024.  He succeeded the Honorable James K. Bredar, who had served as Chief Judge since October 6, 2017.

Judge Bredar was appointed Federal Public Defender for the District of Maryland in 1992.  He served in this position until he was appointed as a U.S. Magistrate Judge in 1998.  On December 17, 2010, he was commissioned as a U.S. District Judge.  Judge Bredar will continue in judicial service as a senior district judge.

Judge Russell was appointed to the Circuit Court for Baltimore City in 2007, and was elected to a 15 year term in November 2008.  On November 10, 2011, Judge Russell was nominated by President Obama to serve as a U.S. District Judge.  He was confirmed by the Senate on May 14, 2012, and took the oath of office on May 24, 2012.